Swimmers and their families gathered at Central United Methodist Church for a season-end awards potluck in celebration of a successful 2015 season for the Milbank... MALST Swimmers Wrap Up Season With Awards Banquet


Swimmers and their families gathered at Central United Methodist Church for a season-end awards potluck in celebration of a successful 2015 season for the Milbank Area Lions Swim Team.

Several awards were distributed throughout the evening. Starting off the awards portion of the event was the presentation of the Swimmer’s Choice Award. This award was voted on by every member of the team and awarded to the top male and female ages 15 and older. The award went to Mark Van Dover and Clare Van Dover.

William Karels and Ashley McCulloch were given the Coaches Award, which honored a swimmer who showed commitment to the sport of swimming and displayed incredible self-motivation. The recipients were excited to swim, to learn about swimming and willing to do whatever was asked of them. “Zach Sousa also received the same award at the Seasonal Championship meet in Mitchell, which was voted on by the other coaches at the meet,” mentioned head coach Ben Forrette.

Jacob Overby (8 & under), Emma DeBoer (ages 9-12) and Elijah Fraasch (ages 13 & over) were named the Most Improved swimmers on the team this season. The award was based on the most time cut throughout the season and to those who consistently swam personal best times as the year progressed.

Liam Street (8 & under), Savanna Osowski (ages 9-12) and Presley Peschong (ages 13 & over) earned the Hardest Worker Award. “These swimmers gave 100% no matter the workout, stroke or distance,” noted Forrette. “You never heard them complain and always completed every lap or set to the best of their ability.”

First year Survivor awards went to Nicholas Batchelor, Jenna Dexter, Jacob Overby, Liam Street, Isabella Pauli and Mason Cordingley. These swimmers successfully completed their first summer on the team.

Jenna Dexter received the Rookie of the Year Award. She was a first year swimmer who performed well at meets, cut the most time and showed the most overall improvement throughout the summer.

Big Brother and Big Sister Awards were given to an older swimmer who showed high interest in the development of the younger swimmers on the team. They always were ready to hop in the pool to demonstrate and help teach and always treated the younger swimmers with respect. The Big Brother Award went to Mark Van Dover while Brooke Fraasch earned the Big Sister Award.


Champion Swimmer Award Winners:
Rylie Overby, Maurina Street, Amaya Street.

The final award of the evening was the Champion Swimmer Award. The award determined which swimmer was the most productive and successful in every aspect of swimming. Practice and meet attendance, placing in events and high point competitions, State A qualifying times, swimming personal bests and amount of time cut were some aspects taken into consideration. Overall effort, commitment and love for the sport of swimming were also determining factors. Three places were given for the award. Amaya Street was first, Maurina Street, second, and Rylie Overby, third.

Mark Van Dover, Clare Van Dover, Aubrey Fraasch and Amaya Street were named the swimmers of the meet for the Seasonal Championship meet in Mitchell July 31 – August 2.

The team was coached by Forrette. He was assisted by Maddie Foss and Tracie Buttke. Forrette will return to the team for the 2016 season.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *