Seven Bulldog grapplers punched their tickets to the State Class A wrestling tournament with a top four finish at the Region 3A event Saturday,... Seven Bulldogs Punch Ticket To State Wrestling; Anderson Named Region Champ

_DSC0003 (11)Seven Bulldog grapplers punched their tickets to the State Class A wrestling tournament with a top four finish at the Region 3A event Saturday, February 20, in Pierre. Representing Milbank will be: Tyler Krause, Jordan Pollock, Alec Bien, Jake Anderson, Cole Dockter, Chris Loutsch, and Riley Folk. The upcoming state meet will be a first for all seven wrestlers, and is the most competitors the Bulldogs have sent to state in several years. “The guys competed and wrestled aggressively,” stated Milbank head coach Jeremy Tostenson. “I am very excited that seven guys will represent us and feel for the seven that came up just short.”

Anderson was named Region 3A champion at the 152 pound weight class. He battled to an exciting 4-2 victory over Lucas Stoltenburg of Pierre in double overtime. Pollock and Dockter earned third place in the tournament while Krause, Bien, Loutsch and Folk landed in fourth place. “I am very happy for our two seniors, Jordan Pollock and Chris Loutsch, for earning the opportunity to wrap up their high school career by competing at a state tournament,” noted Tostenson.

The remaining seven wrestlers gave it their all, but came up just shy of qualifying. Toby Schneck, seventh grader, was 20 seconds away from a victory in the consolation semi-finals, but one quick move by his opponent upset his win. Eli Fischer, Brodie Holtquist, Taran Mogard, Ben Nelson, and Tanner Kettwig all advanced to the consolation semi-finals and were just one match short of placing.

Milbank placed fourth in the team standings with 97 points. Pierre was named the region champion with 241.5 points. Aberdeen Central was the runner-up with 216.5 while Huron finished third with 181. Rounding out the team totals were Chamberlain, 78; Mitchell, 67; Todd County, 15, and Cheyenne-Eagle Butte/Dupree, 12.

The State Class A tournament is slated for Friday, February 26, and Saturday, February 27, at the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center in Rapid City. This year will feature both Class A and Class B in the same venue. Wrestling begins at 10 a.m. MT.

Following are the complete results for Milbank from the Region 3A tournament:
106 – Eli Fischer fell 8-6 to Daynon Huber, Huron; won by fall over Joshua Jimenez, CEB, :43; lost 7-0 to Collin Powell, Chamberlain.
113 – Tyler Krause lost by fall to Chauncey Goethals, Aberdeen Central, :53; won 7-6 over Ryan McGinnis, Mitchell; lost by fall to Max Donovan, Chamberlain, :15. Fourth place finish and state qualifier.
120 – Toby Schneck won 6-4 in sudden victory over Logan Sparks, Mitchell; lost by fall to Michael Lusk, Pierre, :27; lost by fall to Riggin Colombe, Todd County, 2:53.
126 – Jordan Pollock lost by fall to Pywe Der, Huron, 2:35; won by fall over Lucas Lopez, Chamberlain, :40; won by fall over Jordan Poignee, Todd County, 1:47; won 2-1 over Cole Gehrke, Mitchell. Third place finish and state qualifier.
132 – Alec Bien won 7-1 over Sutton Carpenter, Mitchell; lost by fall to Jebben Keyes, Pierre, :16; won by fall over Travis Stambach, CEB, 1:50; lost by fall to Chipper Shillingstad, Huron, 1:15. Fourth place finish and state qualifier.
138 – Isaac Fischer fell by 16-1 technical fall to Aric Williams, Pierre, 4:34; fell 3-1 in overtime to Kyle Corbett, Huron.
145 – Brodie Holtquist lost by fall to Maguire Raske, Pierre, 2:50; won by fall over Cole Brewer, CEB, 2:04; lost by fall to Briggs Havlik, Mitchell, 1:55.
152 – Jake Anderson won by forfeit; won by 10-1 major decision over Zach Smith, Mitchell; won 4-2 in double over over Lucas Stoltenburg, Pierre. Region Champion and state qualifier.
160 – Cole Dockter fell 4-2 to Nathan Powell, Chamberlain; won by fall over Ryan Long Warrior, Todd County, 1:25; won by fall over Noah Fullmer, Aberdeen Central, 2:41; won by 11-3 major decision over Kyle Foote, Mitchell. Third place finish and state qualifier.
170 – Taran Mogard lost by fall to Skyler Leesman, Pierre, 1:34; won by fall over Luis Torres, CEB, :19; lost by fall to Carson Max, Mitchell, 2:01.
182 – Chris Loutsch won by injury default; lost by fall to Braiden Nelson, Aberdeen Central, 1:02; won by fall over Will Marshall, Todd County, 1:39; lost by fall to Colin Simons, Huron, 1:36. Fourth place finish and state qualifier.
195 – Riley Folk won 4-2 over Alex Klingaman, Mitchell; lost by fall to Bailey Schoenfelder, Huron, :31; won by fall over Ruger Forester, Chamberlain, :42; fell 3-2 to Levi Stoltenburg, Pierre. Fourth place finish and state qualifier.
220 – Ben Nelson lost by fall to Marshal Simons, Huron, :58; won by fall over Zeb Parsons, Mitchell, 3:48; lost by fall to Tristin Beckstead, Aberdeen Central, :32.
285 – Tanner Kettwig lost by fall to Josh Waagen, Huron, 5:50; fell 2-1 to Ty Paulsen, Pierre.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *