The Milbank High School wrestling team wrapped up its season with an awards potluck Tuesday, March 15, in the high school lunchroom. Head coach,... Bulldog Grapplers Earn Season-End Awards

_DSC0002_2The Milbank High School wrestling team wrapped up its season with an awards potluck Tuesday, March 15, in the high school lunchroom. Head coach, Jeremy Tostenson, presented the awards.

Tostenson described eighth grader Eli Fischer as a “firecracker who started off the lineup each night.” Fischer won the Rookie of the Year plaque. Two wrestlers were named most improved this season. They were junior Taran Mogard and sophomore Cole Dockter. Mogard was one win away from qualifying for the state Class A tournament and Dockter was one win away from placing at state.

Junior Jake Anderson was named the most valuable wrestler on the team. He led the Bulldogs all season and earned his 100th career win during the state Class A tournament. He was the lone grappler to place at state this year and earned seventh place.

Junior Jose Chen was named the junior varsity most valuable wrestler while freshman Alec Bien was presented the pinner award for having the most pins this season. He tallied 17. Senior Chris Loutsch was named to the 2016 Academic All-State team. To receive this honor, an athlete must have participated in the sport for at least three years and maintain a 3.5 grade point average or higher. The award is sponsored by the South Dakota Wrestling Coaches Association.

Jordan Pollock was the other senior on the team. He and Loutsch were recognized for their contributions to Bulldog wrestling throughout their high school careers. “We thank them for sticking with the program and leading the team this year,” stated Tostenson. “They will be missed.”

Certificates were given to each letter winner. Major M award recipients were: statisticians Hallie Van Sambeek and Lindsey Geyer,; seventh grader Toby Schneck; eighth graders Angel Chen, Elijah Fraasch, Tommy Holtquist, Breyden Miller, Dillon Schneck, JD Lusk, Eli Fischer, and Brodie Holtquist; freshmen Alec Bien and Brennen Schafer; sophomores Cole Dockter, Isaac Fischer, Koben Huber, and Tanner Kettwig; juniors Jake Anderson, Jose Chen, Riley Folk, Tyler Krause, Taran Mogard, and Ben Nelson; and seniors Jordan Pollock and Chris Loutsch.

Tostenson wrapped up the awards with a special thank you. “I give a big thank you to the wrestling booster club, Ron Krause and KMSD, The Valley Express and Ginny Tostenson for excellent coverage especially at the state tournament, Wade Van Dover and Big Stone Therapies, and all the parents and fans for their support this season. A special thank you to my assistant coaches Jesse Krause, Josh Schmeichel, and Ryan Conrad for putting up with me. This program would not run without them.”

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *