The public is invited to a sneak peek of MHS wrestlers during the wrestle-offs on Monday, November 28, at the Milbank Armory. The event... Sneak Peek Of Milbank High School Wrestling On November 28

_dsc0003-31The public is invited to a sneak peek of MHS wrestlers during the wrestle-offs on Monday, November 28, at the Milbank Armory. The event starts at 7 p.m.

One major change for the upcoming season is the elimination of the dual conference championship title. According to coach Jeremy Tostenson, “There are too many conference teams that don’t have full lineups, so the dual title was discontinued. This year we will only wrestle conference teams such as Sisseton, Redfield-Doland, Webster Area, and Clark-Willow Lake. Duals with Deuel, Britton-Hecla, and Groton Area will not be on our schedule.”

Tostenson is in his eleventh year as head coach and holds a 142-118 dual record. Assistant coach Jesse Krause is in his eleventh season alongside Tostenson. Also assisting are Josh Schmeichel, Ryan Conrad, and Spencer Folk.

The Dawgs won back-to-back Northeast Conference dual and tournament championships last season and were undefeated in the NEC with a 7-0 record. The team’s overall record was 14-8 and they finished twenty-second in the State Class A tournament.

Jake Anderson, Riley Folk, Tyler Krause, Taran Mogard, Ben Nelson, and Jose Chen will use their senior status to lead the Bulldogs. Other returning letter winners include: Cole Dockter, Tanner Kettwig, Isaac Fischer, Koben Huber, Alec Bien, Eli Fischer, Brodie Holtquist, and Toby Schneck. Freshman JD Lusk will also join the squad.

Milbank will remain in Region 3A this season and continue to face new teams. “We looked forward to a lot of travel,” stated Tostenson. “We are looking forward to the miles and facing top teams around the state before the region and state tournaments.” Teams included in Region 3 are: Aberdeen Central, Chamberlain, Cheyenne-Eagle Butte-Dupree, Huron, Milbank Area, Mitchell, Pierre, and Todd County.

The Bulldogs sent seven wrestlers to the state tournament last year and hope to better that mark this year. “Our goal is to qualify as many guys as we can,” Tostenson stated. The state Class A tournament will take place in Sioux Falls February 24-25.

The first meet of the season is slated for Saturday, December 3, in Watertown at 10 a.m.

Following is the complete schedule for the 2016 season:
12/3/2016 Watertown Dual Tournament Watertown 10:00 a.m.
12/9/2016 Rapid City Tournament Rapid City 3:00 p.m. CT
12/10/2016 Rapid City Tournament Rapid City 10:00 a.m. CT
12/17/2016 Madison Tournament Madison 10:00 a.m.
12/29/2016 Floyd Farrand Tournament SF Lincoln 11:00 a.m.
12/30/2016 Floyd Farrand Tournament SF Lincoln 10:00 a.m.
1/5/2017 Redfield-Doland & Sioux Valley Sioux Valley 6:00 p.m.
1/7/2017 Big Stone Therapies Dual Tournament Milbank 10:00 a.m.
1/10/2017 Ortonville MN & Morris MN Ortonville MN 5:30 p.m.
1/14/2017 Harrisburg Tournament Harrisburg 10:00 a.m.
1/19/2017 Clark-Willow Lake & Sisseton Sisseton 5:00 p.m.
1/20/2017 Cheyenne-Eagle Butte & Todd County & Chamberlain Chamberlain 5:30 p.m.
1/21/2017 River City Rumble Tournament Chamberlain 10:00 a.m.
1/26/2017 NEC Tournament Groton 5:00 p.m.
1/28/2017 Lee Wolf Tournament Aberdeen 10:00 a.m.
2/2/2017 Webster Area Milbank 6:30 p.m.
2/11/2017 Huron Tournament Huron 10:00 a.m.
2/18/2017 Regions Mitchell 10:00 a.m.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *