The Milbank Bulldog wrestling team captured fourteenth place at the 38-team invitational meet December 9-10, in Rapid City. “We competed hard to place fourteenth... Grapplers Place 14th at Rapid City

_dsc0030-3The Milbank Bulldog wrestling team captured fourteenth place at the 38-team invitational meet December 9-10, in Rapid City. “We competed hard to place fourteenth as a team,” stated Bulldog head wrestling coach Jeremy Tostenson. “I am proud of the way we competed.”

Milbank scored 79.5 points. Pierre won the tournament with 235.5 points and Bismarck, North Dakota, was second with 198.5. Aberdeen Central took third at 192. The Bulldogs faced top teams from South Dakota, North Dakota, and Wyoming.

Senior Jake Anderson and freshman Eli Fischer led the Bulldogs with third and fifth place finishes, respectively. “You need to win four matches to place in this tournament and we had our guys right there,” Tostenson said.

Milbank will be back in action Saturday, December 17. The team travels to the Madison Invitational.

Results from the Rapid City Invitational:

106 – Eli Fischer won 9-3 over Declan Malone, Douglas; lost 1-0 to Jacob Wood, Sturgis; won by 15-0 technical fall over Reyden Danner, Sioux Falls Washington, 2:16; won 2-0 over Jace Bench-Bresher, Pierre; won 9-5 over Jaren Berger, Dickinson; won 1-0 over Beau Beavers, Sioux Falls Lincoln; fell 9-1 to Karsen Mosbrucker, Mandan; won 9-3 over Riley Hollingshead, Sioux Falls Roosevelt. Fifth place finish.
113 – Tyler Krause fell 7-2 to Darien Malone, Douglas; won by fall over Heather Bintliff, Hill City, 1:11; won by fall over Donnie Abbott, Hot Springs, 0:49; lost by 13-0 major decision to Preston Fettig, Bismarck.
120 – Toby Schneck lost by fall to Collin Powell, Chamberlain, 3:22; won by forfeit over Tyler Wright, Mitchell; won by fall over Matthew Legler, Sheridan, 2:01; won by fall over Logan DeSersa, Hot Springs, 1:33; lost by fall to Lawrence Nadeau, Campbell County, 0:51.
126 – JD Lusk lost by fall to Ethan Fleck, Mandan, 4:31; lost by fall to Buck Butterfield, Worland, 4:54.
138 – Isaac Fischer fell 11-6 to Wyatt Pulscher, Hot Springs; won by fall over Nathan Sowle, Huron, 0:54; won 5-2 in a tie breaker over Quinn Heyneman, Sheridan; fell 6-1 to Tyson Stoebner, Lennox.
145 – Alec Bien lost by 9-1 major decision to Nate Allen, Rapid City Stevens; won by forfeit over Colby Fitch, Philip; won by fall over Tashon Clark, Spearfish, 2:21; won 5-2 over Milo Vega, Worland; lost 9-0 to Brandon Sharkey, Rapid City Stevens.
152 – Jake Anderson won by fall over Jordan Schmidt, Bismarck, 1:39; won 4-2 over Maguire Raske, Pierre; won 6-0 over Bridger Kraye, Rapid City Central; fell 1-0 to Trent Francom, Huron; won by fall over Wyatt Corley, Newcastle, 4:59; won by injury default over Collin Haar, Aberdeen Central. Third place finish.
160 – Cole Dockter fell 6-2 to Ethan Anderson, Hettinger; won 5-1 over Ben Graefs, Laramie; won 6-2 in a tie breaker over Justin Briese, Rapid City Stevens; fell 5-3 in an ultimate tie breaker to Branson Taylor, Douglas.
170 – Taran Mogard fell 16-12 to Tyler Norpel, Williston; won by fall over Deion Stork, Chamberlain, 0:43; lost by fall to Jacob Wagner, Sioux Falls Washington, 0:48.
182 – Koben Huber lost by fall to Trig Olson, Harding County, 2:29; lost by fall to Jacek Aksamit, Sheridan, 3:18.
195 – Riley Folk won by fall over Brett Doeden, Williston, 3:37; lost by fall to Justin Bregquist, Bismarck, 4:35; won by fall over Caleb Brink, Rapid City Stevens, 2:41; won 7-1 over Jayden Schroeder, Winner; lost by fall to Terren Swartz, Campbell County, 4:45.
285 – Tanner Kettwig won 3-2 over Colton Gutknecht; lost 4-3 to Devyn Balster, Huron; won by fall over Tyrese Morris, Rapid City Stevens, 1:30; lost by fall to Thomas Fischer, Lennox, 3:09.

The Valley Express file photo of Eli Fischer.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *