Three MHS players were named to All-Northeast Conference basketball teams. They are Seniors Caryssa Mielitz and Nate Bien and sophomore Gabbi Cummins. Mielitz, a... Mielitz, Bien and Cummins Make All-Conference Teams

Three MHS players were named to All-Northeast Conference basketball teams. They are Seniors Caryssa Mielitz and Nate Bien and sophomore Gabbi Cummins.

Mielitz, a first-team honoree, led the Lady Bulldogs’ scoring this season with 380 points. She averaged 16.5 points per game making 146-of-329 attempts from the field for 44 percent shooting. She hit 76-of-100 from the charity stripe for 76 percent and had 222 rebounds, 31 assists, 33 blocked shots, and 30 steals. She scored her 1,000th career point on February 21, during the opening game of the Region 1A girls basketball tournament. Mielitz completed her high school career with 1,043 points.

“Caryssa was our go-to player all year long,” says head coach of the Lady Bulldogs, Brian Pauli. “She always drew a lot of attention from opposing teams which made it easier for her teammates. It will be hard to replace her next year.”

Senior Nate Bien was chosen for the second all-conference team. “Nate was selected as a captain by his teammates this year,” says Bulldog Head Coach Matt Bastian. “This is a position he took very seriously and helped lead our team. His all-conference selection was based on his stats, but his leadership this season was equally important.”

Bien led the Dawgs with 229 points – an average of 10.4 per game. He made 85-of-231 attempts from the field for 37 percent shooting and 41-of-71 from the free throw line for 58 percent. He also led the team in rebounds with 117. Bien contributed 14 assists, 20 steals, and 1 blocked shot.

Sophomore Gabbi Cummins was the final honoree for Milbank Area. She was named to the all-conference third team. “Gabbi gained attention from opposing teams with her ability to shoot from outside,” says Coach Pauli. “I am looking forward to Gabbi adding to her arsenal to make her even more dangerous.”

Cummins began the season as a support player off the bench, but worked her way into a starting role. She finished the season with 226 points – averaging 9.8 per game. Cummins went 84-of-207 from the field for 41 percent shooting and was 15-of-32 from the free throw line for 47 percent. She hit 43-of-121 from three-point land for 36 percent. Cummins finished the season with 76 rebounds, 27 assists, 51 steals, and 8 blocked shots.

The complete list of honorees from the Northeast Conference:

Girls Basketball
First team – Haley Rithmiller, Webster; Lexi Wadsworth, Hamlin; Caryssa Mielitz, Milbank Area; Janae Kolden, Clark-Willow Lake; and Grace Imbery, Aberdeen Roncalli.
Second team – Brynn Alfson, Hamlin; Audrey Wanner, Groton; Olivia Breske, Webster; McKenzie Volesky, Webster; and Alyssa Magnuson, Sisseton.
Third team – Ashley Fosness, Britton-Hecla; Gabbi Cummins, Milbank Area; Aubree Bearsheart, Tiospa Zina; Britney Lovre, Deuel; and Laken Olson, Britton-Hecla.

Boys Basketball
First team – Gus Reede, Aberdeen Roncalli; Jacob Prouty, Clark-Willow Lake; Benji Thompson, Sisseton; Braden Sommers, Aberdeen Roncalli; and Dion Iyarpeya, Sisseton.
Second team – Brayden Rusher, Clark-Willow Lake; Bennett Shabazz, Groton; Sean Schuring, Groton; John Roe, Hamlin; and Nate Bien, Milbank Area.
Third team – Seric Shabazz, Groton; DJ White, Sisseton; Micah Burke, Clark-Willow Lake; Tayon Hawkins, Britton-Hecla; and Preston Homan, Deuel.


No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *