Three Bulldogs were crowned NEC champions and nine placed at the Northeast Conference meet in Britton on Thursday, January 30. Eli Fischer, Toby Schneck,... Three Grapplers Crowned NEC Champs and Nine Place

Three Bulldogs were crowned NEC champions and nine placed at the Northeast Conference meet in Britton on Thursday, January 30. Eli Fischer, Toby Schneck, and Brodie Holtquist led the Dawgs as individual champions. Brayden Christensen, Barrett Schneck, Brady Femling, and Dillon Schneck each captured third place, and Leyton Raffety and Logan Meyer finished in fourth place.

“It has been quite a while since we have had three NEC champs,” stated Milbank’s head coach Jeremy Tostenson.

The MHS team also placed third with 140 points. Redfield was crowned the team champion with 208 points. Kingsbury County was the runner-up with 157 points. Other team totals included: Clark-Willow Lake, 107; Sisseton, 99; Webster Area, 76.5; Groton Area, 66; Hamlin, 34; Deuel, 29; Britton-Hecla, 11; and Tiospa Zina, 0.

Complete results for the Milbank wrestlers:
106 – Jacob Johnson lost by 20-2 technical fall to Mason Whitley, Redfield, 6:00; won by fall against Ethan Opitz, Webster, 2:06; fell 10-9 to Christian Ehresman, Groton. Did not place.
120 – Breyden Christensen defeated Korbin Whitley, Deuel,by fall :26; lost 3-2 to Jacob Fehlman, Redfield; won by fall against Aiden Heathcoate, Groton, :13; won by fall against Elliot Bratland, CWL, 3:59. Third place finish.
126 – Eli Fischer won by fall against Lane Holland, Kingsbury Co, 3:27; won by fall against Lucas Kannegieter, CWL, 3:37. NEC Champ.
132 – Barrett Schneck won 12-10 in sudden victory over Matthew Steffensen, Kingsbury Co; lost by fall to Bradyn Robbins, Redfield, 2:42; won by fall against Hunter Rucktaeschel, Webster, 3:30; won by injury default against Chase Chambers, CWL. Third place finish.
138 – Brady Femling lost by fall to Andy Johnson, Webster, 3:03; won by fall against Chase McGillivary, Redfield, 1:00; won by fall against Ethan Mcelhone, CWL, 1:52. Third place finish.
145 – Jesse Schneck lost by fall to Hayden Niles, Webster, 5:17; won by 14-5 major decision over Logan Eng, Hamlin; lost by fall to Dylan Hagberg, Deuel, :27. Did not place.
152 – Leyton Raffety won by fall against Braeden Johnson, CWL, :48; lost by fall to Carter Metz, Sisseton, 3:20; lost by fall to Dylan Singrey, Kingsbury Co, 2:17. Fourth place finish.
160 – Dillon Schneck won by fall against Isaac VanWormer, Deuel, :58; lost by fall to Gage Burke, CWL, 4:32; won by fall against Nate Kersting, Kingsbury Co, 1:58. Third place finish.
170 – Nick Trevett lost by fall to Gavin Holland, Kingsbury Co, :28; lost by fall to Dakota Lilly, CWL, 2:30. Did not place.
182 – Toby Schneck defeated Sam Granthan, Hamlin, 5:42 by fall; won 15-8 against Sean Domke, Redfield. NEC Champ.
195 – Brodie Holtquist won by fall against Caleb Furney, Groton, 1:41; won by fall against Michael Stevenson, Hamlin, :40. NEC Champ.
220 – Logan Meyer lost by fall to Grady Fey, Redfield, 2:24; fell 4-3 to Devon Apple, Sisseton. Fourth place finish.
285 – Landon Novy lost by fall to Gavin Nichols, Redfield, 1:50; lost by fall to Grady O’Neill, Groton, :47. Did not place.

Pictured: Logan Meyer, Eli Fischer, Toby Schneck, Brayden Christensen, Leyton Raffety, Barrett Schneck, Brodie Holtquist, Dillon Schneck, Brady Femling

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *