Landon Novy, a Milbank eighth-grader, won the South Dakota Middle School Wrestling Championship on Saturday, February 15, in Pierre. This is the second year... Landon Novy Wins State Middle School Wrestling Championship

Landon Novy, a Milbank eighth-grader, won the South Dakota Middle School Wrestling Championship on Saturday, February 15, in Pierre. This is the second year Milbank attended the tournament.

Novy pinned his opponent in his opening match. He then won 4-2 in the semi-final round and outlasted Brok Ellwein of Mitchell, 5-4, in the championship tilt. Evan Dorsett was named runner-up in his weight class, and Owen Fischer took third. Other Bulldogs who placed included: Oliver Korth, fourth; Andrew Folk and Joseph French, sixth; and Jayden Johnson, seventh.

Complete results for the Milbank grapplers:
Owen Fischer – won by fall against Derek Merrival, Pine Ridge, 0:18; won by fall against Conner Zens, Redfield, 1:18; fell 4-2 to Landon Flogstad, McCook Central/Montrose; won 6-1 against Andon Hammerstrom, Sturgis; won by fall against Parker Kisch, Yankton, 2:05; won by fall against Tyler Trant, Custer, 3:29; won 4-2 against Landon Flogstad, McCook Central/Montrose. Third-place finish.
Jayce Jonason – won by fall against Marley Guthmiller, Ipswich Area, 0:39; lost by fall to Tyler Tjeerdsma, Bon Homme/Scotland/Avon, 4:03; won 4-2 against Luther Morrison, Rapid City Central; lost by fall to Landon Boyd, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton/Corsica-Stickney, 1:58. Did not place.
Nollen Sheeley lost by fall to Michael Even, Parker, 2:59; lost by fall to Luther Morrison, Rapid City Central, 2:08. Did not place.
Evan Dorsett won 11-4 against Aidan Kanable, Harrisburg; won 4-2 against Colby Kolda, Miller-Highmore/Harrold; won 4-2 against Jaxon Ducheneaux, Pierre; won 7-2 against Brevin Fliehs, Groton Area; lost by fall to Demetrious Daniels, Sturgis, :40. Second-place finish.
Joseph French won by fall over Bryce Becker, Pierre, 0:21; won by fall against Collin Dean, Redfield, 2:35; lost by fall to Lucas Chamberlin, Pierre, 3:00; lost by fall to Denver Wolff, Ipswich Area, 3:25; lost by forfeit to Collin Dean, Redfield. Sixth-place finish.
Landon Novy won by fall against Ty Garcia, Andes Central/Dakota Christian, 2:18; won 4-2 against Nate Haar, Lennox; won 5-4 against Brok Ellwein, Mitchell. Champion.
Andrew Folk won by fall against Owen Serck, Beresford/Alcester-Hudson, 1:10; won 6-4 against Ivan Johnson, Harrisburg; lost by fall to Lane Graf, Custer, 1:09; fell 7-0 to Judd Hansen, Burke/Gregory; lost 14-12 in sudden victory to Koyer Kelly, Sturgis. Sixth-place finish.
Reese Rabe lost by fall to Dustin Kurtenbach, Mitchell, 2:01; lost by fall to Bryan Juhas, Pierre, 2:18. Did not place.
Jayden Johnson won by fall against Brooks Weatherhill, Brandon Valley, 2:13; lost by fall to Tristan Spencer, Pierre, 4:17; won by fall against Owen Haas, Deuel, 2:30; won by 13-4 major decision against Stetson Riggs, Parkston; won by 15-2 major decision against Byron Holt, Sturgis; lost 4-2 in sudden victory to Logan Peterson, Miller-Highmore/Harrold; won by fall against Robert Watkins, Beresford/Alcester-Hudson, 3:27. Seventh-place finish.
Micah Tostenson won by fall over Tj Paul, Sunshine Bible Academy, 0:37; lost by fall to Cordel Rychlik, Aberdeen Central, :26; lost by fall to Bryan Juhas, Pierre, 1:23. Did not place.
Hunter Reede lost by fall to Ayden Gisi, Aberdeen Central, :25; lost by fall to Owen Tesch, Milbank, :49. Did not place.
Owen Tesch lost by fall to Aiden Schroeder, Harrisburg, 4:06; won by fall against Hunter Reede, Milbank, :49; lost by fall to Ty Dalen, Harrisburg, 2:55. Did not place.
Jesse Schneck won 6-2 over Kain Burggraff, Dell Rapids; lost by fall to Jaeden Waltner, Tea Area, 2:58; lost by fall to Petar Carlson, Douglas, 3:06. Did not place.
Oliver Korth won by fall against Luke Lembcke, Sioux Valley, 2:08; lost by fall to Aiden Werlinger, Sturgis, 0:52; won by fall against Grady George, Chamberlain, 0:20; won 9-7 against Quincy Bleyle, Mobridge-Pollock; won 6-2 against Collin Wendt, Lennox; lost by fall to Dakarai Osborne, Sturgis, 3:26. Fourth-place finish.

Submitted photo – Back – (l. to r.) Jayce Jonason, Reese Rabe, Tate Schlueter, Jayden Johnson, Evan Dorsett, Landon Novy, Joseph French, Oliver Korth. Front – Andrew Folk, Jesse Schneck, Owen Tesch, Owen Neeley, Micah Tostenson, Hunter Reede, and Owen Fischer.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *