The Chiefs are on Fire! The Milbank Firechiefs take a perfect 12-0 season record as they head into the 2020 South Dakota Class B... The Chiefs are on Fire; Undefeated Heading into State Amateur Baseball Tournament
District 1B Champions – Back row, left to right, Jesse Krause, Jacob Jackson, Tristan Hall Travis Lester, Bryan Appl, Taylor Boerger, Chuck Foss, and Nolan Foss.
Front row, Kaden Krause, Dom Boerger, Ronnie Krause, Tyler Borns, Brady Krause, Jon Ash and Brady Femling.

The Chiefs are on Fire! The Milbank Firechiefs take a perfect 12-0 season record as they head into the 2020 South Dakota Class B State Amateur Baseball Tournament which begins Wednesday, August 5, in Mitchell.
In the opening round, Milbank will face Dell Rapids PBR. The game is scheduled for Saturday, August 8, at 1:00 p.m.

District 1B Tournament

Milbank captured the District 1B baseball title after three victories in the district tournament last week. Milbank blew past Hamlin, downed Lake Norden, and edged out Clark to claim the title Wednesday, July 29.

Milbank 19, Hamlin 4

In the first game of the tournament, Milbank breezed past Hamlin 19-4 on Saturday, July 25. Jon Ash was not denied at the plate in the contest. He drove in four runs on two hits to pace the Firechiefs. He drove in runs on a single in the second, was hit by a pitch in the fourth, and belted out a two-run homer in the fifth.
Hamlin got on the scoreboard first with three runs in the opening inning. Milbank came back to even the score in the second but surged ahead with four runs in the third. A big seven- run fourth inning put the game away for good for the locals.
Milbank scored its 19 runs on 13 hits. Ash, Jesse Krause, Dom Boerger, and Brady Krause each had two hits while Jacob Jackson, Tristan Hall, Taylor Boerger, Travis Lester, and Dan Karges contributed one apiece.
B. Krause earned the victory on the hill for Milbank. He lasted five innings, allowing three hits and four runs while striking out 12 batters.
Following is the complete box score:

Milbank 10, Lake Norden 2

Milbank downed Lake Norden 10-2 in semi-final action Sunday, July 26, in Lake Norden.
The Firechiefs got things started in the first inning when an error scored two runs for Milbank. Hall added a third run for Milbank on a passed ball.
The Chiefs put up five runs in the third inning. Ronnie Krause and Jackson each had RBIs in the big inning. Milbank secured the win with two more runs in the fifth.
Milbank totaled seven hits in the contest. Hall went 3-for-4 at the plate, and Lester added two hits. Ash and R. Krause each contributed one hit to the cause.
D. Boerger earned the win for Milbank. He went the distance, surrendering two runs on four hits while striking out 19 batters and walking one.
Following is the complete box score:

Milbank 7, Clark 4

The Milbank Firechiefs took the lead late and defeated Clark in comeback fashion at 7-4 to win the District 1B championship title Wednesday, July 29, in Clark.
Clark led the game at 1-0 after three innings of play. Milbank evened the score with a lone run in the fifth. Clark went ahead 4-1 in the top of the sixth, but the Chiefs pulled away for good with five runs in the bottom of the inning. Dom Boerger singled on a 3-2 count, scoring three runs. Ronnie Krause singled on a 1-2 count, scoring two. Milbank added one more run in
the eighth to seal the win.
The Firechiefs scattered eight hits in the game. Ash and J. Krause each managed two hits to pace the locals. T. Boerger, D. Boerger, B. Krause, and R. Krause each added one hit.

T. Boerger stared the game for Milbank. He surrendered four runs on nine hits over five and two-thirds innings, striking out six and walking one. D. Boerger came in and secured the win for the Firechiefs. He gave up no runs on no hits over three and a third innings, striking out eight and walking one.
Following is the complete box score:


No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *