The Lady Bulldogs volleyball team rallied one last time to present their 2020 season-end awards.  Several awards were voted on by the varsity team,... Lady Bulldogs Volleyball Team Rallies for Season-End Awards

The Lady Bulldogs volleyball team rallied one last time to present their 2020 season-end awards.  Several awards were voted on by the varsity team, and other awards were given by the coaches based on the season’s statistics.
Senior captain Madi Thue was named the Most Valuable Player. She was the kill leader with 134, the block leader with 14, and accrued a serving percentage of 90 percent (167-of-185). Thue was also named to the All-Northeast Conference team for the 2020 season.

Sophomore Averie Engebretson was named the Assist Leader with 192 and was the second highest ace server on the team with 15 aces. She earned a serving percentage of 91 percent (158-of-173).  Sophomore Hallie Schulte was given the Hardest Worker Award.  She was the dig leader with 389, and had a serving percentage of 92 percent (179-of-195).  Senior Siri Bien served the most aces on the team with 17. She also complied a 90 percent serving percentage by completing 170-of-189.

Freshman Rachel Schulte was named the Most Improved Player. Senior Shelby Lee received the Positive and Supportive Teammate Award.
Senior Captain Jessica Van Peursem was given the Best Attitude Award. She had the highest serving percentage on the team at 93 percent (159-for-171), and was the second highest in aces with 15.

Lindsey Mertens was presented with the Bulldog Award. The award was given by the coaches to the player who demonstrated a love for the game of volleyball and for her teammates. “This person has been a good representation of what Bulldog Volleyball stands for by demonstrating high character on and off the court. She demonstrated respect for her teammates, coaches, parents, and officials,” explained Coach Nancy Hoeke. Jessica Pillatzki was recognized for her dedication to the program as the team’s student manager for four years.

Receiving the Bulldog Award for the JV and C teams were Taryn Dusky and Abby Pillatzki, respectively.  Emily Wollschlager and Shaylee Schuchard were given the Maroon and Gold Award for the JV and C team. The award recognized the person who was consistently the hardest worker in practice and allowed  her positive attitude to shine through. She rarely, if ever, missed a practice. She also had high potential and worked to reach that potential at every practice.

The seniors on the team were honored for their dedication to Bulldog volleyball and presented with a gift from the Milbank Volleyball Association. Seniors include: Back – (l. to r.) Madi Thue, Siri Bien, and Jessica Van Peursem. Front – Jessica Pillatzki, Shelby Lee, and Lindsey Mertens.
Award winners: Back – (l to r.) Jessica Van Peursem, Madi Thue, Shelby Lee, Siri Bien, and Rachel Schulte. Front – (l. to r.)  Jessica Pillatzki, Averie Engebretson, and Lindsey Mertens. Not pictured: Hallie Schulte.


No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *