The MHS cast and crew of Oz earned a Superior rating for their performance in the Class A division of the 2024 One-Act Play Festival. The... MHS Cast and Crew Earn a Superior at One-Act Play Festival

The MHS cast and crew of Oz earned a Superior rating for their performance in the Class A division of the 2024 One-Act Play Festival. The annual event was hosted at the Brandon Valley Performing Arts Center from February 1-3.

As an ensemble, Charlotte Street, Rebecca Lavalee, and Ava Sichmiller of the Milbank Tornado Tech Support also received a Superior rating. Individually, Elyse Reede, Avery VanOverbeke, Jack ter Denge, Oliver Korth, and Ivy Lewno received Superiors.

The students are judged completely on their own presentation and do not enter into competition with the other schools and students who attend. A Superior performance is the highest rating awarded.

2024 Superior Award Winners for Class A
Class A Superior Plays
Aberdeen Roncalli – The Scheme of the Driftless Shifter
Beresford – The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
Tea Area – The Other Room
Milbank – Oz
Custer – My Brother’s Gift
Madison – The Treasure of Huckleberry Ridge or Hey, Jude

Class AA Superior Plays
Rapid City Central – Queen of Scots: A Rock Opera
Yankton – They Promised Her the Moon
Rapid City Stevens – Romeo And Juliet
Douglas – Mockingbird
Aberdeen Central – Singing in the Rain
Brandon Valley – Clue: The Musical
O’Gorman – Pobby and Dingan
Sioux Falls Lincoln – Everybody
Harrisburg – Little Women 2: Wrath of the Undead
Pierre T.F. Riggs – The Chips Are Down
Sioux Falls Jefferson – The One Act Play That Goes Wrong

Class B Superior Plays
Sioux Falls Lutheran – Antigone
Canistota – Gossip
Kimball – Bus Stop
Castlewood – KUPD: Love Is on the Air
Rosholt – Snow White and the Queen of Mean
James Valley Christian – Username
Kadoka Area – Stage Parents
Avon – Booby Trap
Bridgewater-Emery – At the Bottom of Lake Missoula

Class A Superior Ensembles
*Tri-Valley Guards with Hats
Ellie Czerny, Rosalynn Focken, Savannah Schulte, Rain Anglin, Kerry Christensen
*Aberdeen Roncalli Backstage Support
Gianna Madsen, Genesis Dosch, Lucy Gutenkauf, Isabella Martinez, Sarah Schmidt
*Beresford Musicians
Izzy Beeson, Nora Rasmussen
*Beresford Storytellers
Paige Stephens, Jameson Ouimet, Sophia Coe, Haley Huot, Hailey Stephens, Noah Colford, Levi Gillespie, Ian Andal, Jayda Tadlock, Laney Andrews, Larissa Lyle
*Milbank Tornado Tech Support
Charlotte Street, Rebecca Lavalee, Ava Sichmiller
*Custer Musical Accompaniment
Skye Schultz
*West Central The Zombies
Ana Underwood, Caleb Mellema, Echoe Kjellsen, Devon Lee, Matt Leeper
*Elk Point-Jefferson The Aunts
Megan Monkvold, Tessa Mollet, Ella Ketchelos
*Madison Guests
Autumn Lindholm, Shayna FlyingHorse, Easton Neu, Oliver Meyer, Milo Osborn, Emmi Honomichl, Jaylynn Mackert
Tex, Dex, and Rex Maguire Studer, Ian Groce, Tristan Brown
*Madison Itsy & Bitsy
Ava Brandenburger, Selma Brown

Class A Superior Individuals Selected From Milbank
Amelia Pederson
Elyse Reede
Hunter Reede
Avery VanOverbeke
Jack ter Denge
Oliver Korth
Ivy Lewno

All Photos Courtesy of SD Public Broadcasting


No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *