Four teams and two individuals from the Milbank FFA chapter will advance to the state FFA Leadership Career Development Event in Pierre December 6... Milbank FFA Members Advance to State Leadership Competition


Four teams and two individuals from the Milbank FFA chapter will advance to the state FFA Leadership Career Development Event in Pierre December 6 and 7, after securing top placings at the District 1 event Thursday, November 12. The local students competed against others from Webster, Groton, Clark, Sisseton, Wilmot, Deuel, Florence and Doland. FFA members who place first at the state event go on to represent South Dakota at the National FFA Convention in October of 2016.

Students who will represent the district as well as MHS include Chris Loutsch, Rebekah Tuchscherer, Brianna Schreurs, Kadon Leddy, Kimberlly Aburto, Trevor Schmidt, Kristine Fairchild, Tera Hanson, Claire Mischel, Nathan Loutsch, Kylie Roggenbuck, Kellie Christians, Jessica Fenhaus, Spencer Raffety, Sara Capp, Morgan Kowalski, Will Mischel, Andrew Mears, Caleb Seehafer and Sadie Holland.

Senior Officers

Taking first place, Gold, in the Senior Conduct of Meetings was the team of Chris Loutsch, president; Rebekah Tuchscherer, vice-president; Brianna Schruers, secretary; Kadon Leddy, treasurer; Kimberlly Aburto, reporter; Trevor Schmidt, sentinel, and Kristine Fairchild, student advisor. Tera Hanson was the alternate.

In the Senior Conduct of Meetings CDE, the FFA officers take a test on parliamentary procedure, which includes how to conduct a meeting and use various motions. Each team must then perform a mock 15 minute meetingusing the topic selected by the judges. Each officer must perform a given procedure ability and then perform a second ability not listed. After the meeting, the judges ask questions about their motions. The event concludes with minutes being written up by the secretary and presented to the judges.

Junior Officers

Earning second place, Silver, in the Junior Conduct of Meetings were freshman Greenhand members Claire Mischel, president; Nathan Loutsch, vice-president; Kylie Roggenbuck, secretary; Kellie Christians, treasurer; Jessica Fenhaus, reporter; Spencer Raffety, sentinel, and Sara Capp, student advisor, with Morgan Kowalski as alternate.

In the Junior Conduct of Meetings event, each team also conducts a 15-minute meeting. Each FFA member is assigned to perform a specific parliamentary procedure ability and is asked a question about that procedure by the judge.

The Agriculture Issue group captured first place, Gold, at the district level. The team was made up of Will Mischel, Andrew Mears, Caleb Seehafer, Kimberlly Aburto, Sara Capp and Sadie Holland, and was instructed and coached by Suzanne Sousa.


Making up the second place Marketing Plan team were Tera Hanson, Kristine Fairchild and Brianna Schreurs. The Marketing Plan event is designed to assist members with developing practical skills in the marketing process through the development and presentation of its plan. The members research and present a plan for an agricultural product, supply or service. It is intended as a competitive activity involving a team of three persons working for an actual local agri-business, either an existing or start-up enterprise, supporting FFA’s outreach mission. Sandy Christensen assisted the team.

Also advancing to the state competition are Kadon Leddy in extemporaneous speech and Kimberlly Aburto in prepared public speaking. Leddy placed first, Gold in extemporaneous speech CDE which is designed to develop the ability of all members to express themselves on a given agricultural-related subject without having prepared or rehearsed its content in advance. Members prepare a 4-6 minutes presentation on their given topic within the allowed 30-minute time frame. The topics are unknown until they are able to begin preparing.

Aburto finished third, Bronze, in prepared public speaking CDE. It’s purpose is to develop agricultural leadership, communication skills and promote interest in citizenship by providing member participation in agricultural public speaking activities by researching, writing and presenting a 6-8 minute speech. Chase Pinkert also participated in the event at the District 1 competition.

Trevor Schmidt was selected as District 1 Vice-President, following a successful interview for the position. He will represent the district at the State Legislative breakfast in January and assist with the FFA petting zoo at the South Dakota State Fair.

Other FFA members participating in the District 1 event were Brianna Schreurs and Katherine Warren, job interview; Taylor Dragt and Nathan Loutsch, FFA Creed Speaking, and Kendra Schweer and Chris Loutsch, FFA Agriculture Broadcasting.

The FFA members were accompanied by Jerry Janisch, Milbank agriculture education instructor/FFA advisor.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *