Whetstone Valley Electric Teams Up to Donate $20,000 to Local Organizations
Four area organizations started the 2021 New Year by receiving $5,000 each in grant money from Whetstone Valley Electric Cooperative (WVEC) and CoBank. Inter-Lakes Community Action Partnership, Grant County 4-H, the Milbank Community Foundation, and the Sisseton Area Foundation were chosen as the recipients. WVEC provided $2,500 for each entity, and CoBank matched that amount through its Sharing Success program.   Whetstone Valley General... Read more
Remembering Mrs. Scott- Longtime Milbank Kindergarten Teacher
Mrs. Mary Scott of Milbank died on Tuesday, January 12, just seven days before her 100th birthday. If you feel sad she missed her birthday by just a week, consider the glass half full instead. Mrs. Scott lived 99 years and 358 days. In that time, she touched thousands... Read more
MHS Updates Activities Attendance Policy
The Milbank School District has updated its attendance policy for athletic and school events, effective immediately as decided by the Milbank School Board during its regular meeting on Monday, January 11. The district will allow all of the student body to attend events as long as they wear a mask.... Read more
I-29 Closing Tonight Due to Blizzard Conditions
The South Dakota department of transportation reports all lanes on I-29 from the North Dakota border to the Iowa border will be closing at 10:00pm tonight, Thursday, January 14. A blizzard warning remains in effect for the entire area until 6:00pm Friday. Roads are snow-packed and icy with winds... Read more
McKenzie Johnson to be Reunited with Lost Wedding Ring
You could say McKenzie Johnson was thrilled when she received her gorgeous engagement ring, but now you’ll need to ask which time? McKenzie (Krakow) Johnson and her husband, Jessy, of Milbank had been shopping in Sioux Falls on Sunday afternoon. When they decided to stop at Sam’s Club, McKenzie slipped... Read more
Million Dollar Fundraiser Returns to St. Lawrence School
Want to turn a five dollar bill into a new car or $20,000 in cash?  It will happen to someone during  the 2021 Catholic Schools Raffle. The raffle returns to St. Lawrence School in Milbank and gives you the opportunity to turn your five dollar bill into a 2021 Ford EcoSport (or choose $20,000... Read more
Milbank School Board Votes to Change Quarantine Policy
The Milbank School Board has updated its close contact quarantine policy. The vote was held during their regular meeting on Monday, January 11.According to Superintendent Justin Downes, the adjustment was based on the decreased number of cases in the community and the school. It also follows a decrease in the... Read more
Gail Barlund Retiring from WVEC After 35 Years
Gail Barlund, office manager at Whetstone Valley Electric Cooperative in Milbank, announced she plans to retire this month. Barlund has been employed by WVEC for 35 years. She joined the cooperative in 1985 and has served as office manager for the past 25 years.  After over three decades of service... Read more
Brian Sandvig Elected Chair of South Dakota Chamber
Brian Sandvig, vice president of operations and human resources at Valley Queen Cheese in Milbank, has been elected to chair the board of the South Dakota Chamber of Commerce and Industry. Sandvig has been a member since 2015, and he most recently served as the chairman-elect.Sandvig will serve a... Read more
The Valley Express Honors Paige Zempel on National Law Enforcement Day
Each year, across our country, January 9 is recognized as National Law Enforcement Appreciation Day.  The day was first observed in 2015 to show support for the men and women who put their lives on the line every day to protect others and those who were killed in the... Read more