The Milbank Area Bulldog football team wrapped up its season with an awards potluck November 14, at the high school. Some of the awards... Football Awards Presented

15110454_10211209521658237_8686589843516540511_oThe Milbank Area Bulldog football team wrapped up its season with an awards potluck November 14, at the high school. Some of the awards were given according to votes from fellow teammates.

Junior Cole Dockter was named the Most Valuable Player on offense. He was also named to the All-Northeast Conference team and the All I-29 Conference team. On the defensive side, senior Jake Anderson captured the Most Valuable Player award and was also named to both the All-NEC and All I-29 teams.

Sophomore Jacob Sandvig received the junior varsity MVP award and Jacob Karges was named the Rookie of the Year. Karges was also named to the All-NEC and All I-29 teams.

Senior Caden Wollschlager was named the Lineman of the Year by his teammates, Junior Derrick Aho was named the special teams Most Valuable Player. Senior Zach Angerhofer was presented the Justin Maass Spirit Award by the Bulldog coaches for his contributions to the team on and off the field.

Seniors Tanner Gauer, Nate Bien, Matt Lenards, and Ben Nelson were named to the Academic All-State team for their contributions in the classroom. To receive that distinction, the athlete must participate in the sport for at least three years and maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.
Also named to the All-NEC team were seniors Gauer and Taran Mogard and junior Jonny Ash. Receiving an honorable mention were senior Riley Wollschlager and juniors Ethan Paysen and Tanner Kettwig.

Rounding out the All I-29 team were Gauer and Ash. I-29 honorable mention players were Paysen, Kettwig, and Mogard.

The Bulldogs earned the team Academic All-State award with a cumulative GPA of 3.14. The award is sponsored by the South Dakota High School Activities Association.

Football letter winners were: seniors Tanner Gauer, Nate Bien, Jake Anderson, Riley Folk, Matt Lenards, Cody Dockter, Riley Wollschlager, Ben Nelson, Caden Wollschlager, Jacob Stinson, Zach Angerhofer, Taran Mogard and Albert Pavlinac; juniors Cole Dockter, Jonny Ash, James Weber, Derrick Aho, Ethan Paysen, Derek Weinkauf, Koben Huber, Mitch Quade, Chandler Peery, Isaiah Wollschlager, Austin Schuelke, Preston Morton, and Tanner Kettwig; sophomores Jacob Sandvig, Alec Bien, Jacob Karges, Riley Gauer, Nolan Hanson, Tate Stricherz, Gabe DeLaRosa, Nathan Hansen, Ethan Bohn, Jake Fox, and Jordan Riley; and freshmen Sam Seffrood, Keaton Benson, Noah Steinlicht, Breyden Miller, Tommy Holtquist, Brodie Holtquist, Brady Femling, Micah Liebe, Dillon Schneck, Jordan Lindberg, Darby Waniorek, Elijah Fraasch, Chance Jones, Alex Schuelke, Angel Chen, Brian Wiese, and Domnick Ellefson.

Bulldog head coach Jeremy Tostenson thanked people for their help and support this season. A special thank you went to the cheerleaders and Mrs. Anderson, Pat DeFea and DeFea Transportation, Wade VanDover and Big Stone Therapies, KMSD and Chad Nolz, The Valley Express and Ginny Tostenson, The Grant County Review and Dillon Dwyer, the chain gang – Terry McCulloch, Jeff Jackson, Ron Waletich and Scott Jackson, and statisticians Jason Kettwig, Keith Weber and Paul Tostenson.

“A very special thank you to the senior players and their parents for all the hard work to make this season a great success,” commented Tostenson. Coach T concluded by also thanking his assistant coaches – Troy Gauer, Scott Wiese, Travis Lester, Ryan Scoular, Brian Pauli and Carl Larson.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *