The Milbank Fire and Rescue Department recently took delivery of a new fire engine pumper truck. The vehicle arrived just in time to celebrate... Milbank Fire Department Gets New Pumper Truck

The Milbank Fire and Rescue Department recently took delivery of a new fire engine pumper truck. The vehicle arrived just in time to celebrate national Fire Prevention Week – October 8 through October 14.

According to Fire Chief Kevin Schuelke, the department replaced their main first-out-of-the-hall pumper truck. The old truck was a five-man, 1994 Freightliner, with a 1,500 gallon per minute pump. It held 1,000 gallons of water with a breathable air fill station. “That truck was purchased new in 1994 and served Milbank and the surrounding area for 23 years,” said Schuelke. “For many years, 10-year replacements were the industry standard, but with poly tanks, and better fitting and piping, the expected life has extended which saves money long term.”

The new truck is a Rosenbauer Group pumper truck built on a Rosenbauer Warrior chassis. It features a G3 fire 1,000 gallon co-poly tank with a 20-gallon Class A foam cell and a 20-gallon Class B foam cell. “This new truck has basically the same pumping capabilities,” added Schuelke. “Instead of a five-man cab, this truck has a six-man cab. This is a big deal for fire suppression. It allows us to have two, two-man teams enter the buildings with two men for backup ready to assist or provide relief.” Schuelke also exolained the fifth man sets up suction and hydrant lines while the sixth man is the truck pump operator.

The City of Milbank owns the truck, and the Milbank Fire and Rescue Department operates separately. “If we are going to provide expected fire service along with our guys going inside, it is good to have reliable equipment. We are certain this apparatus will provide excellent service to the community for years to come.”

Milbank volunteer firefighters recognized and honored during Fire Prevention Week include: (standing, l. to r.) John Weyh, Nate Spors, Brian Homan, Jacob Wellnitz, Matt Foell, Assistant Chief David Giessen, Secretary Mike Hanson, Fire Chief Kevin Schuelke, Eric Stengel, Assistant Chief Chad Wientjes, Jason Sackreiter, Travis Whitesitt, Captain Dean Wellnitz, Dave Mogard, Curt Berkner, Captain Jason Krause, Jesse Morton, Ross Jurgens, Brett Storm, Bill Jurgens, and Captain Craig DeBoer. (Kneeling) Captain Justin Mathiason, Mike Mach, Mario Perez, Jason Wellnitz, Treasurer Evan Grong, Ronnie Krause, Dylan Howen, Captain Steve Spors, Joe Weber, Scott Neidert, Blaine Schell, and Captain Kyle Schwandt. Not pictured are Jason Fraasch and Bill Rise.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *