The Milbank Area football team wrapped up its season with an awards potluck Monday, November 13. Team members voted senior Cole Dockter the Most... Bulldog Football Squad Receives Awards

The Milbank Area football team wrapped up its season with an awards potluck Monday, November 13. Team members voted senior Cole Dockter the Most Valuable Player for the offense. He was also named to the All-Northeast Conference team and selected as a defensive back All-State team member.

Senior Mitch Quade and junior Jacob Karges won the Most Valuable Player(s) award for the defense. Both were named to the All-Northeast Conference team and were recognized at the All-State level. Quade was named a defensive end to the All-State team, and Karges received an All-State honorable mention.

Sophomore Brodie Holtquist was named the Junior Varsity MVP and Max McCulloch, also a sophomore, took the Rookie of the Year award. Carlos Padilla Ramirez received the Special Teams MVP award. Senior Austin Schuelke was named the Lineman of the Year.

Senior Isaiah Wollschlager was chosen by the Bulldog coaches for the Justin Maass Spirit Award for his contributions to the team on and off the field. Seniors Jonny Ash, Ethan Paysen, and Tanner Kettwig were named to the Academic All-State team for their contributions in the classroom. To receive that distinction, the athlete must be in the sport for at least three years and maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. The Bulldogs also earned the team Academic All-State award with a cumulative GPA of 3.11. The award is sponsored by the South Dakota High School Activities Association.

Seniors Kettwig, Schuelke, and James Weber, and sophomore McCulloch were also named to the All-NEC team. Juniors Jacob Sandvig and Riley Gauer each earned an honorable mention.

Football letterwinners were: seniors Cole Dockter, Jonny Ash, James Weber, Mitch Quade, Derrick Aho, Ethan Paysen, Derek Weinkauf, Nate Bohn, Chandler Peery, Isaiah Wollschlager, Austin Schuelke, Tanner Kettwig, Preston Morton, and student manager Gage Sayler; juniors Jacob Sandvig, Jacob Karges, Riley Gauer, Nolan Hanson, Tate Stricherz, Gabe Delarosa, Alec Bien, Jake Fox, and Jordan Riley; sophomores Sam Seffrood, Max McCulloch, Noah Steinlicht, Breyden Miller, Brodie Holtquist, Brady Femling, JD Lusk, Dillon Schneck, Jordan Lindberg, Elijah Fraasch, Alex Schuelke, Angel Chen, Brian Wiese, and Carlos Padilla Ramirez; and freshmen Parker Schell, Mason Riley, Will Cummins, Toby Schneck, Trey Eckland, Jared Johnson, Tanner Mertens, Micah Dietmeier, Matthew Christensen, Nick Ruhr, Lars Anderson, Brendan Engebretson and Trystan Fischer.

Award winners: (Back l. to r.) Mitch Quade, Max McCulloch, James Weber, Brodie Holtquist, Jonny Ash, Tanner Kettwig, and Austin Schuelke. (Front) Jake Karges, Cole Dockter, Isaiah Wollschlager, Jake Sandvig, Riley Gauer, and Ethan Paysen.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *