The Milbank School Board met Monday, April 9, at its regular meeting. The board approved May 24, as the first snow make-up day. Originally,... School Board Approves Dates for Snow Make-Up Days

The Milbank School Board met Monday, April 9, at its regular meeting. The board approved May 24, as the first snow make-up day. Originally, May 23 was scheduled as the last day of school. Additional snow days will extend the school year until all are made up.

The board approved the hiring of the summer (OST) staff. Mackayla Schuelke is new to the group and returning staff are: Karen Vaudrey, Lorrie Hardy, Jayne Paysen, Jenny Seehafer, Caitlin Kroemer, Devon Balling, Brittany Preller, Cori Pierce, Alec Bien, Ashley McCulloch, Kaylee Pinkert, Derrick Aho, Taylar Bock, and Sarah Jarman. Summer maintenance staff were also approved and include: Julie Dwyer, Becky Johannsen, Sheila Morton, Ethan Bohn, and Lisa Brown.

Sheila Morton was hired as food service staff. She has four years food service experience. She will replace Shelley Welberg who resigned. A pay raise was approved for Bre Schwandt consistent with her recently acquired master’s degree.

Katie Gilmore was hired as the new literacy coach for kindergarten through fifth grade. She will divide her time between the Sisseton and Milbank school districts. The position is funded by a state personnel grant, which provides $75,000 for four years.  Gilmore is currently an elementary
teacher at Koch School.

The board also accepted Karla Katrup’s resignation. Kastrup has been employed as a speech therapist at Koch School for seven years.

The Milbank School District will receive a $2,500 donation from Monsanto. Tim and Sue Stengel were instrumental in nominating the district.

The annual audit report performed by Wohlenberg Ritzman and Co. of Yankton was approved. Graf stated there were no major findings. Graf commended the district’s business manager, Nancy Meyer, for the clean report.

Jane Popowski highlighted the endowment fundraiser to be held April 22. Matt Vee & Friends will perform a Neil Diamond tribute concert in the MHS theater.

Superintendent Tim Graf reported only two petitions were received for the school board positions up for election and now held by Amy Thue and Shiela Bien. Sheila Bien chose to step down, and, as Amy Thue and Jon Christiansen were the only applicants, no election will be required in June.

The next regular meeting of the board is May 14, at 7 p.m. A special board meeting is scheduled for Thursday, May 10, at 6 p.m. The agenda includes a review of the Koch School adequacy study.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *