The Milbank High School band and choirs presented year-end awards during their final concert May 15, and at the school awards ceremony on May... MHS  Musicians Earn Awards

The Milbank High School band and choirs presented year-end awards during their final concert May 15, and at the school awards ceremony on May 21. The John Phillip Sousa Award, the most prestigious award for high school band students demonstrated by their musicianship, leadership, dependability, and loyalty, was awarded to Magally K. Aburto. The Louis Armstrong Jazz Award, presented to a student whose participation in jazz band continues Mr. Armstrong’s desire for the true jazz sound was presented to Adam Thomas.

Rebecca Loehrer and Christina Lusk earned The Director’s Awards. The Vocal Performance Award went to Isaiah Wollschlager. Spirit of Marching Awards were presented to: Freshman Eric Van Sambeek, Sophomore Alaina Rausch, Junior Nathan Loutsch and Senior Angela Hoeke.

Outstanding choir members as voted on by choir members included: Freshman Rhianna Folk, Sophomore Landon Brown, and Junior Hope Osborn.

Landon Brown, Keaton Hagen, Ben Harstad, Nathan Loutsch, Jordan Riley, Taylor Thue, and Abby Weber were selected for the 45th South Dakota Honor Choir. The event will be held on the campus of University of Sioux Falls July 29-August 3.

Madison Liebe and Andrew Falk each received a Justin Maass Memorial Award. Amberly Warren and Chase Pinkert each received a National School Choral Award. The Arion Award went to Shawn Stemsrud.
The Milbank Concert Band earned two superiors and one excellent at the Large Group Contest. The Concert Choir earned three superior ratings.

Musicians awarded 4-year band pins included: Magally K. Aburto, Jonny Ash, Devon Balling, Heather Bray, Jodi DeVaal, Andrew Falk, Angie Hoeke, Sadie Holland, Tanner Kettwig, Maddy Liebe, Maty Lightfield, Rebecca Loehrer, Chrstina Lusk, Isaac Nolz, Chase Pinkert, Brittany Preller, Jenny Seehafer, Sophia Seffrood, Grace Spiering, Shawn Stemsrud, Adam Thomas, Cassidy Voeltz, Amberly Warren, Ramsey Wieber, Luke Wold, and Isaiah Wollschlager.

Students in the North Area Honor Band include: Magally K. Aburto, Kellie Christians, Keaton Hagen, Sadie Holland, Rebecca Loehrer, Christina Lusk, Logan Meyer, Chase Pinkert, Alaina Rausch, and Kimberly Van Sambeek.

Musicians earning 4-year choir pins include: Magally K. Aburto, Devon Balling, Jodi DeVaal, Andrew Falk, Isaac Fischer, Tanner Kettwig, Maddy Liebe, Rebecca Loehrer, Christina Lusk, Elias Magilke, Chase Piinkert, Alex Popowski, Molly Rick, Sophia Seffrood, Grace Spiering, Shawn Stemsrud, Montana Swenson, Adam Thomas, Amberly Warren, Kassidy Wellnitz, Luke Wold, and Isaiah Wollschlager.

All-State Chorus pins went to: Landon Brown, Ben Harstad, Hope Osborn, Elisabeth Schwenn, Shawn Stemsrud, Adam Thomas, Taylor Thue, and Abby Weber.

Students earning a major letter include:
Seniors: Jonny Ash (band), Elias Magilke (choir), Zach Pinkert (band), Montana Swenson (choir), Cassidy Voeltz (band), and Luke Wold (band).

Juniors: Hope Osborn (band/choir), Hanna Ryazanova (choir), Justine Wiik (band), and Katie Wollschlager (choir).

Sophomores: Rhianna Cantine (band), Evan Erickson (band), Micah Liebe (band), Kaitlyn Schmitt (band), Sam Seffrood (band), Crystal Spiering (band), Adam Wollschlager (band).

Freshman: Lars Andersen (band/choir), Siri Bien (band), Emma DeBoer (band/choir),  Halli Essington (band), Trystan Fischer (band), Rhianna Folk (choir), DeAndre French (band), Isaac Johnson (band), Shelby Lee (choir), Max Liebe (band), Nathan McFarland (band), Logan Meyer (band/choir), MacKenzie Michels (band), Camryn Phinney (band), Drake Rogers (band/choir), Amaya Street (band), Amber Unzen (band), Jessica VanPeursem (choir), Erick Van Sambeek (band/choir), and Peyten Wiese (band/choir).

Major bar awards were presented to:
Seniors: Kimberlly Aburto (band/choir), Devon Balling (band/choir), Heather Bray
(band), Jodi DeVaal (band/choir), Andrew Falk (band/choir), Isaac Fischer (choir), Angie
Hoeke (band), Sadie Holland (band), Tanner Kettwig (choir), Madison Liebe (band),
Rebecca Loehrer (band/choir), Christina Lusk (band/choir), Isaac Nolz (band), Chase
Pinkert (band/choir), Alex Popowski (choir), Jenny Seehafer (band), Sophia Seffrood
(band/choir), Grace Spiering (band), Shawn Stemsrud (band/choir), Adam Thomas
(band/choir), Amberly Warren (band/choir), Cassidy Wellnitz (choir), and Ramsey
Wieber (band).

Juniors: Zach Aker (band), Ethan Bohn (band), Sara Capp (band), Kellie Christians
(band/choir), Taylor Dragt (choir), McKenna Folk (band), Keaton Hagen (band/choir),
Brandon Hansen (band/choir), Nathan Hansen (band), Ben Harstad (band/choir), Jaden
Hoeke (choir), Mya Johanson (band), Nathan Loutsch (band/choir), Anna Mathews
(band/choir), Abby Michels (band), Claire Mischel (choir), Jordan Riley (band/choir),
Kylie Roggenbuck (band), Elisabeth Schwenn (band/choir), Taylor Thue (choir), Kimberly
VanSambeek (band), Abby Weber (band/choir), and Mackenzie Weinkauf (choir).

Sophomores: Hali Anderson (band), Yami Arano (band), Landon Brown (band/choir),
Cassidy Christians (band), Abbey Converse (choir), Elijah Fraasch (band), Bailey Frerichs
(band), Joe Harstad (band), Stewart Loehrer (band), Jackson McFaden (band), Noah
Mursu (band), Amy Nelson (band), Tracy Pillatzki (band), Alaina Rausch (band/choir),
Elsie Rogers (band/choir), Yulissa Sanchez-Ramierz (band), Hailey Underwood
(band/choir), Rhianna Welberg (band/choir), and Casey Yamaura (band).

Those who counted perfect attendance at marching and pep band events included: Yami Arano, Heather Bray, DeAndre French, Joe Harstad, Stewart Loehrer, Jackson McFaden, Noah Mursu, Camryn Phinney, Yulissa Sanchez-Ramierz, and Amber Unzen.
Band officer pins were presented to: President-Shawn Stemsrud; Vice-President-Adam Thomas; Secretaries-Christina Lusk, Sophia Seffrood, Tanner Kettwig, and Jenny Seehafer; Treasurers-Angie Hoeke and Maddy Liebe. Chorus President recognition was given to Shawn Stemsrud.

Drum major pins were awarded to: Magally K. Aburto, Shawn Stemsrud, Amberly Warren, Ben Harstad, and Landon Brown.

Colorguard pins went to: Jodi DeVaal, Jaden Hoeke, Christina Lusk, Amy Nelson, Makenna Osowski, Elisabeth Schwenn, Abby Weber, Mackenzie Weinkauf, and Rhianna Welberg.

Band section leader pins were given to: Rebecca Loehrer, Amberly Warren, Elisabeth Schwenn, Christina Lusk, Chase Pinkert, Heather Bray, Kylie Roggenbuck, Shawn Stemsrud, Kimberly Van Sambeek, Jordan Riley, Ramsey Wieber, Magally K. Aburto, Jenny Seehafer, Keaton Hagen, Nathan Loutsch, Mya Johanson, Jake Sandvig, Sophia Seffrood, Tanner Kettwig, Adam Thomas, and Kellie Christians.

Chorus section leader pins were earned by: Soprano: Kimberly Aburto, Maddy Liebe, Elisabeth Schwenn, Abby WeberAlto: Christina Lusk, Amberly Warren, and Kassidy Wellnitz. Tenor/Bass: Landon Brown, Chase Pinkert, Jordan Riley, Adam Thomas, and Shawn Stemsrud.

Jazz band member pins were awarded to: Magally K. Aburto, Zach Aker, Lars Andersen, Hali Anderson, Yami Arano, Siri Bien, Ethan Bohn, Heather Bray, Sara Capp, Emma DeBoer, Andrew Falk, Trystan Fischer, Elijah Fraasch, DeAndre French, Keaton Hagen, Brandon Hansen, Nathan Hansen, Ben Harstad, Joe Harstad, Mya Johanson, Isaac Johnson, Jared Johnson, Madison Liebe, Max Liebe, Micah Liebe, Stewart Loehrer, Nathan Loutsch, JD Lusk, Nathan McFarland, Logan Meyer, Abby Michels, MacKenzie Michels, Noah Mursu, Isaac Nolz, Hope Osborn, Tracy Pillatzki, Chase Pinkert, Maci Priebe, Jordan Riley, Mason Riley, Kaitlyn Schmitt, Sam Seffrood, Sophia Seffrood, Grace Spiering, Shawn Stemsrud, Amaya Street, Adam Thomas, Hailey Underwood, Eric Van Sambeek, Kimberly Van Sambeek, Ramsey Wieber, Peyten Wiese, Justine Wiik, and Adam Wollschlager.

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *