The Milbank High School Music Department presented year-end music awards at the band and choir concert on May 14. Kimberly Van Sambeek won the... Year-End Music Awards Presented at MHS

The Milbank High School Music Department presented year-end music awards at the band and choir concert on May 14. Kimberly Van Sambeek won the John Phillip Sousa Award. The award, which originated in 1954, is the most prestigious award for high school band students. Recipients must demonstrate outstanding musicianship, leadership, dependability, and loyalty.

The Louis Armstrong Jazz Award recognizes a student whose participation in jazz band continues Mr. Armstrong’s desire for the true sound of jazz. The 2018-2019 recipient was Jordan Riley.

Hope Osborn received the Arion Award. The Arion Award is the oldest and most prestigious national award for outstanding achievement by high school musicians. The winner must be a strong contributor to the school’s music department, exhibit scholastic standing in both band and choir, demonstrate personal and professional qualities, and possess excellent performance ability and musicianship.

Taylor Thue and Jordan Riley won the National School Choral Awards. The awards honor a female and a male singer in the senior class who contributed most to the school vocal program with their singing ability and enthusiasm for choral performance.

Alaina Rausch and William Karels were honored for representing Milbank at 2019 South Dakota All State Band in Aberdeen. Spirit of Marching Awards went to Robbie Bailey for Top Freshman, Amaya Street for Top Sophomore, JD Lusk for Top Junior, and Justine Wiik for Top Senior.

Students selected for the South Dakota Honor Choir were recognized and include: Lars Andersen, Aiden Boerger, Landon Brown, and Alaina Rausch. The alternate is Rhianna Welberg.

Choir students voted on outstanding chorus members: Hailey Hupke for Freshman, Rhianna Folk for Sophomore, and Landon Brown for Junior class.

The Director’s Award goes to the individual who most assists the director and students. DeAndre French won the award for the band. Abby Weber won the award for the choir.

The Justin Maass Memorial Award recognizes the chorus member who shows outstanding effort and motivating enthusiasm for choral singing with strong musicianship. The 2018-2019 winner was Elizabeth Schwenn.

Awards were presented by MHS choir director Miriam Schwenn and band director Susan Karels.

Submitted Photo: Front row: Taylor Thue, Justine Wiik, Abby Weber, Elisabeth Schwenn, Hope Osborn, Hailey Hupke, Rhianna Folk, Alaina Rausch

Second row: Kimberly Van Sambeek, Amaya Street, Landon Brown, Jordan Riley, William Karels, DeAndre French, JD Lusk

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *