The MHS choir, with 63 members and 30 vocal soloists, performed in Watertown on Wednesday, February 26, at the Region III Solo and Ensemble... MHS Choir Atttends Region III Music Contest

The MHS choir, with 63 members and 30 vocal soloists, performed in Watertown on Wednesday, February 26, at the Region III Solo and Ensemble Music Contest. Vocalists from Milbank received 24 Superiors (I), 10 Excellents (II) and 1 Good (III) rating. Choir director Miriam Schwenn accompanied the musicians to the event. Mrs. Kristi Seehafer and Mrs. Deb Rausch helped prepare voice students and served as accompanists.

Solo performances were based on the following criteria: tone, intonation, accuracy, interpretation, vocal technique and performance factors such as literature choice and professional conduct.  Ensemble groups were also critiqued on balance/blend. Each area of concern was worth five points and was totaled at the end of each performance for an overall rating. 

Vocal Solos
Vocal Ensembles
Bien Siri –II Excellent
Boerger, Aiden-I Superior
Brown, Landon-I Superior
Brown, Maiah – II Excellent
Converse, Abbey-I Superior
DeBoer, Emma-I Superior
Folk, Rhianna-I Superior
Hupke, Hailey-I Superior
Johnson, Jenna-I Superior
Karels, Will-I Superior
Lightfield, Max –I Superior
Meyer, Logan-II Excellent
Mursu, Noah-I Superior
Neugebauer, Ellie- I Superior
Osowski, Makenna-II Excellent
Rausch, Alaina-I Superior
Rogers, Drake-I Superior
Rogers, Elsie-II Excellent
Sousa, Isaac-I Superior
Schulte, Halli – II Excellent
Schulte, Isaac –I Superior
Spiering, Cyrstal –III Good
Thue, Madi – I Superior
Underwood, Hailey – I Superior
VanPeurseum, Jessica-I Superior
VanSambeek, Eric-I Superior
Welberg, Rhianna-I Superior
Wiese, Peyten-II Excellent
Wold, JacquieI Superior
Yamaura, Dani –II Excellent
Vocal Mixed:   I-Superior
Landon Brown, Cassidy Christians, Abbey Converse, Evan Erickson, Maddie Gustafson, Tori Hooth, Stewart Loehrer, JD Lusk, Jackson McFaden, Noah Mursu, Raina Ortiz, MaKenna Osowski, Lilly Peschong, Tracy Pillatzki, Alaina Rausch, Elsie Rogers, Danica Schulte, Sam Seffrood, Crystal Spiering, Hailey Underwood, Rhianna Welberg
Boys Vocal Ensemble:  I-Superior
Stevie Ash, Nick Batchelor, Conner Bender, Alex Hilbrands,   Will Karels, Jack Sandvig, Isaac Schulte, Bennett Schwenn, Isaac Sousa, Bennet Street, Ryker Trevett, Karson Weber
Girls Vocal Ensemble: I-Superior
Tatum Berry, Taryn Dusky, Peyton Gengler, Madison Mathews, Shaylee Pekelder, Emily VanHoorn, Elizabeth Vogel, Tenley Wildung
Girls Vocal Ensemble: II-Excellent
Siri Bien, Heidi Capp, Emma DeBoer, Rhianna Folk, Allison Leddy, Lindsey Mertens, Mackenzie Michels, Maci Priebe, Sydney Spanton,
Girls Vocal Ensemble: II-Excellent
Kylene Bowen, Jenna Dexter, Averie Engebretson, Adelynn Farrell, Laney Forrette, Madisen Frerichs, Madi Loeschke, Ashlyn O’Farrell, Cadence Pillatzki, Hailie Pillatzki, Casside Seezs, Elsie Seffrood, Camryn Wiese

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *