Tuesday, June 2, is South Dakota’s primary election. Don’t forget to cast your ballot! Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.... Everything You Need To Know Before Voting June 2

Tuesday, June 2, is South Dakota’s primary election. Don’t forget to cast your ballot! Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. All absentee ballots must also be returned to the Grant County Courthouse June 2 by 7 p.m.

According to Grant County Auditor Karen Layher, a drop box is stationed outside the courthouse and is emptied multiple times per day. Layher reminds everyone who chooses to vote in person to check the list below to learn if your polling place has changed. Some polling places have been combined for this election.

Layher reports there are 4928 active and inactive voters in Grant County. As of today, 784 had requested an absentee ballot and 671 had returned their ballot. Layher says, “This is the highest number of absentee ballots requested in a primary election, but during a general election we had over 1200 absentees and in-house votes.”

Layher says, “With COVID-19, this election has seen an increase in planning for the safety of the precinct official as well as the voter.  As always, the Grant County Commission has given their full support in implementing the additional safety measures.”

If you plan to vote in person, Layher outlines what to expect:
There will be a hand-sanitizing station when you enter and exit your polling location. Stop approximately two feet from the election worker’s table to state your name and show your photo ID to the precinct official. All voting booths are spaced six feet apart. An election worker will instruct you on how to return your completed ballot in the disposable privacy sleeve. Also, you will be given a pen to use and to take with you.

Auditor Layher emphasized, “I would like to thank my election workers who do an excellent job working this long day. I am so appreciative of their dedication to maintain everyone’s right to vote. My staff, as always, steps up to complete  their daily work in addition to the added duties of an election.”

Layher concluded, “I would encourage the voters to exercise their right and to go to the polls and vote!” 
Precinct Name Polling Place:

Visitors Center- Community Room- 1001 East 4th Avenue, Milbank                                                                       Milbank Ward 1 Precinct 1
Milbank Ward 1 Precinct 2
Milbank Ward 2 Precinct 1
Milbank Ward 2 Precinct 2
Milbank Ward 3 Precinct 1
Milbank Ward 3 Precinct 2
Milbank Ward 3 Precinct 3

Revillo Community Center-310 North 2nd Street, Revillo                                                                                              Adams and Vernon Townships, Towns of Albee and Revillo                                                                                                          Georgia and Madison Township and Town of LaBolt

Grant County Library-207 East Park Avenue, Milbank 
Alban, Grant Center and Melrose Townships

Big Stone City Office-400 Washington, Big Stone City
Big Stone City and Big Stone Township

Marvin Hall-204 South Church Street, Marvin 
Blooming Valley, Farmington and Lura Townships, Mazeppa-Osceola Township and Town of Marvin, Twin Brooks Town & Township & Kilborn Township

Stockholm Community Center- 400 East Johnson, Stockholm
Stockholm and Troy Townships, Towns of Stockholm and Strandburg

Staff Writer

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *