The 94th Annual South Dakota FFA Convention was held April 24-26 at South Dakota State University in Brookings. The Milbank FFA Chapter sent 30 FFA... State FFA Yields Multiple Awards for Milbank FFA Members

The 94th Annual South Dakota FFA Convention was held April 24-26 at South Dakota State University in Brookings. The Milbank FFA Chapter sent 30 FFA members to compete.

Natalie Meyer was awarded a $500 FFA Washington Leadership Conference Scholarship.
Isaac Sousa received a $500 Northland Ford Scholarship, and Korbin Leddy earned a $750 Wosje Ag Business Scholarship. 

Leddy also placed first (Gold) in the Beef Cattle Entrepreneurship Proficiency awards. His application will now advance to the National FFA. He also placed second (Silver) in the Agriscience Research Integrated System Proficiency Award program. 

South Dakota Star categories are based on an FFA member’s Supervised Agricultural Experience program, FFA leadership activities, and community and school activities. Leddy placed third In the South Dakota Star Agriscience Program and second in the South Dakota FFA Star Farmer division.

Milbank FFA members who received the State FFA Degree –the highest FFA Degree given out by the South Dakota FFA– included Hattie Muellenbach, Meyer, Marion Mischel, Sousa, Wylie Mursu, and Leddy.  

To earn this degree, the member must have:● Earned and productively invested at least $1,000 or worked at least 300 hours in excess of scheduled class time, or a combination thereof, in a Supervised Agricultural Experience program.● Demonstrated leadership ability by performing ten procedures of Parliamentary Law by giving a six-minute speech on an agricultural or FFA-related topic. Served as an officer, committee chairperson, or participating member of a chapter committee.● Completed at least 25 hours of community service.

Jerry Janisch, MHS agriculture education instructor and FFA adviser, said “The Milbank FFA Chapter competed in seven Career Development events at the State FFA Convention. Members practiced in their free time, mostly in the morning and after school, starting in January.”

Milbank FFA teams and members who placed in the top 10 in their event included:

Dairy Cattle—Milbank earned first place as a team. Members included Cassidy Schwagel, Keara Van Hoorn, Brooke Schwagel, and Kylee Bowen. Individually, C. Schwagel earned first place and Van Hoorn took third.

Food Science—Grace Weston, Harley Davis, Raul Berrones, and Meyer brought home fourth place as a team. Weston placed fifth individually and Davis was eighth.

Meat Evaluation—Merik Junker, Muellenbach, Luis Berrones and Nathan Pillatzki earned fourth place as a team. Individually, Junker took sixth place.

Milk Quality Products—MHS took sixth place as a team. Joe French, Bergan Nolting, Shane Spiering and Veronica Fonder made up the team. French also placed eighth individually.

Natural Resources—On the seventh-place team were Mischel, Tice Mursu, Leddy, and W. Mursu. 

Agronomy—Coming in at eighth place were Kaden Schweer, Avery Van Overbeke, Nick Fonder, and Braden Stricherz. 

Livestock Judging—The MHS team earned 15th place. The team was comprised of Cailey Sime, Abigail Pillatzki, Hope Karels, and Sunne DeBoer. 

Delegates from the Milbank FFA Chapter who represented Milbank at the business meeting were Sousa and Nollen Sheeley.

Top photo: left to right- Hattie Muellenbach, Natalie Meyer, Marion Mischel, Korbin Leddy, Isaac Sousa and Wylie Mursu #2 Korbin Leddy # 3 left to right- Suzanne Souza, coach, Brooke Schwagel, Cassidy
Schwagel, Keara Van Hoorn and Kylee Bowen #4 left to right- Raul Berrones, Grace Weston, Harley Davis and Natalie Meyer


No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *