Milbank took first place in the A- division at the 68th Annual Mathematics Contest at Northern State University on Wednesday, April 19. Veronica Fonder... MHS Team Take First at NSU Math Contest

Milbank took first place in the A- division at the 68th Annual Mathematics Contest at Northern State University on Wednesday, April 19. Veronica Fonder was also crowned the champion in the Geometry category. 

Top-five place winners from MHS also included Max Lightfield, third place in Senior Math; Graham Lightfield, third place in Geometry; Amelia Pederson, fifth place in Geometry, and Stella Wendland, fifth place in Advanced Algebra.

Honorable Mention winners from MHS included Zane Kilde and Kalli Grong in Elementary Algebra; Ty Kettwig and Max Schuelke in Geometry; Averie Engebretson and Elsie Seffrood in Senior Math; and Trey Gloe, Josh Keeton, Olivia Wendland, Isabella Vogel, and Grace Weston in Advanced Algebra.

Milbank entered 53 students in the competition:  Aidan Foell, Max Schuelke, Jessel Stengel, Ty Kettwig, Veronica Fonder, Uziel Lopez, Joe French, Qualon Grant, Amelia Pederson, Shane Spiering, Jericho Jones, Landen Appl, Nick Fonder, Jaclyn Wiik, Isabella Vogel, Kadence Rausch-Frank, Avery VanOverbeke, Oliva Wendland, Stella Wendland, Kaden Schweer, Grace Weston, Averie Engebretson, Max Lightfield, Luis Berrones, Josh Keeton, Trey Gloe, Zach Ringsaker, Emily Jo Wohlschlager, Elsie Seffrood, Gemma Street, Owen Fischer, Siera Wenzl, Graham Lightfield, Raul Berrones, Mason Meister, Rachel Schulte, Camila Monroy, Bridget Korstjens, Connor Wiik, Casside Seezs, Julia Wiik, Layten Osowski, Jaiden Tillotson, Zane Kilde, Jimena Achiago, Yanderyn Olivares, Carlos Olivares, Camryn Sovell, Keira Steffen, Oliva Foell, Kalli Grong, Anna Neugebauer, and Laura Johnson.

Students are allotted 60 minutes to take a test in one of the four divisions of Elementary Algebra, Geometry, Advanced Algebra, and Senior Math. At the end of the 60 minutes, they receive a tie-breaker question that must be answered in 15 minutes.

“These are difficult tests,” MHS math teacher Caitlyn Graf said. “Milbank students did a fantastic job! There were 17 teams participating this year and over 300 students. Milbank took first place in the A- division. They repeated as champions, as they also won last year.”

The mathematics contest was created n 1953 by Northern professors Scout Mewaldt and Edwin Williamson to promote an interest in math. The inaugural event included approximately 40 students from eight schools. Today, hundreds of students participate. The contest was also developed to give high school teachers an opportunity to compare the mathematical skills of their students with the skills of students from other schools.

Submitted Photos: Place Winners– (L to R): Stella Wendland, Max Lightfield, Graham Lightfield, Veronica Fonder, Amelia Pederson. Honorable Mention-Back Row (L to R): Zane Kilde, Ty Kettwig, Elsie Seffrood, Trey Gloe, Josh Keeton. Front Row (L to R): Grace Weston, Isabella Vogel, Kalli Grong, Avery Engebretson, Olivia Wendland, Max


No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *