Jayden Johnson and Garrett Mertens, alumni of the Milbank Bulldogs 2023 football team, played in the South Dakota Football Coaches Association’s 2024 All-Star game... Johnson and Mertens Play in 2024 All-Star Game

Jayden Johnson and Garrett Mertens, alumni of the Milbank Bulldogs 2023 football team, played in the South Dakota Football Coaches Association’s 2024 All-Star game on Saturday, June 8.  Players were nominated by their coaches and came from schools across the state for the three-day event held at Dana J. Dykhouse Stadium on the campus of SDSU. Johnson and Mertens were both on the Blue-White team’s roster and were coached by Brian Allmendinger, the former head coach at MHS.

During the big game, defense proved to be the ticket, and at the horn, the red team took the victory with a score of 15-0. The Blue-White team had flirted with a chance to close the gap during the last five-minute mark, when they drove the ball to inside the five-yard line, but were stopped on downs.  

Camron Maciejewski of Hot Springs, who made a 45-yard interception return for a touchdown, was named the Defensive Player of the Game. Ryland Satter of O’ Gormon, who claimed a touchdown and three extra points for the Red team, was named the Overall Player of the Game. The Blue-White team’s Mason Stubbe of Dell Rapids was selected as the Offensive Player of the Game.

The All-Star game has traditionally been an annual event held at the DakotaDome at USD, but last year the association took a break to regroup and no game was played. Another noticeable change to this year’s contest was free admission for all fans, courtesy of the sponsors.

Rosters for the teams:
Blue-White Team – Coach Brian Allmendinger of  Milbank and Assistant Coach – Justin Briese of Aberdeen Central
Andrew Comes, Madison
Trevor Heinz, Ipswich
Jayden Johnson, Milbank
Nate Tchida, Sisseton
Ethan DeSpiegler, Sisseton
Hunter Cramer, Warner
Garrett Mertens, Milbank
Carter Wright, Corsica-Stickney
Rylan Peck, Gregory
Luke Fraser, Hamlin
Avery Ligon, Aberdeen Central
Jhett Breen, Wagner
Eli Barger, Madison
Kaleb Briest, Brandon Valley
Spencer Skjonsberg, Pierre
Jaxsen Grevengoed, SF Roosevelt
Colby Carruthers, Tri-Valley
Mason Stubbe, Dell Rapids
Caden Dowd, Brandon Valley
Chet Peterson, Ipswich
Tate French, Wolsey Wessington
Tayden Nave, SF Roosevelt
Cruz Soulek, Chamberlain
Gideon Waldrop, RC Central
Landon Thury, Avon
Canaan McCracken, Canton
Isaac Nehlich, Tri-Valley
Aiden Geraets, Dell Rapids
Bryce Bietelspacher, Aberdeen Central
Terran Talsma, Avon
Easton Poppe, Brandon Valley
Robert Begalka, Deuel
Noah Paulson, Florence-Henry
Connor Degen, Mitchell
Holden Sippel, Groton Area
Pierce Mastalir, Canton
Jameson Nebel, Hamlin
Ty Black Elk Volkman, RC Central
Brodey Sauerwein, Warner
Justin Ratigan, Redfield
Connor Singrey, Mitchell
Josh Schaunaman, Aberdeen Roncalli
Peyton Hora, Chamberlain
Logan Ringgenberg, Groton Area

Red Team – Coach Nathan Lamb – Deubrook Area
Lucas Flemmer, Dell Rapids  St. Mary
Pierce Gomarko, SF Washington
Trae Pial, Dakota Valley
Zoan Robinson, Vermillion
Caden Langenfeld, Spearfish
Blake Larson, WWSSC
Mason Bolkema, SF Lincoln
Hayden Groos, SF O’Gorman
Seth Hamilton, Spearfish
Tate Feucht, Baltic
Sam Kooima, Lead-Deadwood
Chase Donnelly, St. Thomas More
Gavin Landmark, Deubrook Area
Aidan Hedderman, Sturgis
Bo Bosler, SF Lincoln
Ethan Steele, Lakota Tech
Keegan DeYoung, Tea Area
Ryder Bailey, Custer
Dawson Siem, SF Lincoln
Chance Schoellerman, Viborg-Hurley
Henry Theobald, SF O’Gorman
Payton Anderson, Baltic
Ryder Falkenhagen, Potter County
Gavin Sundstrom, Sturgis
Conner Roerig, Vermillion
Cody Thompson, Waverly South Shore
Camron Maciejewaski, Hot Springs
Mason Wilson, SF Washington
Shaylor Platt, Yankton
Caleb Rickenbach, Hot Springs
Spencer Johannesen, St. Thomas More
Dan Peterson, Timber Lake
Lathan Wilcox, SF O’Gorman
Bryson Morrison, Viborg-Hurley
Zak Juelfs, Sturgis
Gavin Kucera, SF Washington
Chance Smith, Potter County
Cayden Wavrunek, Yankton
Brandon Kjetland, Canistota
Jake Jorenby, Deubrook Area
Hudsyn Ruesink, Sioux Valley
Ryland Satter, SF O’Gorman
Emmitt Maher, Lemmon-McIntosh
Adam Heyn, Castlewood
Max Elrod, Harrisburg

Submitted Photos: Top- Mertens & Johnson. Middle – Johnson #7. Bottom- Mertens


No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *